Lost Boy

He stood right in the middle of the rain
Letting drops of water find its way
Inside his clothes and on his hair
Refusing to stop anywhere.

 

The heavens wept with loathing
And he stood still, hoping
It would stop raining
But the heavens just kept sobbing.

 

With all I could, I called out his name
While on the sidelines, I patiently wait
But he never looked at me the same way
He used to when it didn’t rain.

 

He closed his eyes and pretended not to hear me
He titled his face up and got lost in a world I couldn’t see
And all I could do was watch him disappear,

To somewhere I could never reach him.

 

I can’t do anything to make the rain stop, so my name wasn’t called and I was cast out.

Leave a Reply

